P90X3 Day 37 – Triometrics

Today, was my second time doing Triometrics as part of P90X3. Last week I was really impressed with how great of a body weight leg workout this one is. But, I am still a little disappointed that there is no fast paced jump training workout, like Plyo X in P90X3.

A couple of my favorite moves today were the Speed Skaters and the Warrior 3 Squats. Speed Skaters get used a lot by Tony Horton, but I really enjoy the three levels of variation here. When it finally gets up to the triple one legged hop across the room, it’s just so much fun. Warrior 3 is one pose I have been trying to improve my balance on for some time and so, I relish any opportunity to work on that. Adding a one legged squat to a pose I already struggle with, is just the icing on the cake. I also really enjoy the burnout, which simply has you jumping side to side and bringing the knees up to add intensity. It is quite satisfying to finish this routine out of breath, even though I feel like it is a little weak overall, from a cardio perspective.

One the other side of things I really struggle with the Kabalam, which has you start in a lunge and jump back and forth from lunge to squat to lunge on the other leg. I have been working a lot on improving my squat form in this program and PiYo, But, when I jump into the position it feels kind of weird, since I am used to setting my feet in position first. But, hopefully over time, as I improve with this exercise it will feel more natural.

Leave a comment